Lost Universe
Lost Universe
Lost Universe
Lost Universe
Lost Universe
Lost Universe

Our Rating: 3 stars
Reader’s Rating: 5 stars

Total # of Volumes: 6
(click link to view)

1: In Space...It's Very, Very Dark
2: The Ultimate Fowl!
3: Flushed Into Space
4: Psyche Up! Freak Out!
5: Union of Evil
6: The Perfect Firestorm


A space opera from the creators of Slayers, Lost Universe is slightly adrift. This is a story about a "troubleshooter" (mercenary) called Kain; his ship, the "Swordbreaker"; Canal, his lovely assistant, and a feisty sharpshooter called Millie.

Together, they zip around the universe doing nearly anything for a buck. The style of the anime, from the story to the characters, is firmly in the Slayers mode and the computer graphics are not as seamless as you would hope. But it is a fun 25 minutes spent while you watch each episode.

Volume 1: "In Space...It's Very, Very Dark" Plot Summary:

Kain, Canal and Millie are mercenaries aboard the ship "Swordbreaker". They will take almost any job for a buck. Millie is a sharpshooter, Canal is a holographic representation of the Swordbreaker's computer and Kain is the captain, owner and the wielder of a weapon called the "pyschoblade". They always seem to get into some fix but manage to come out on top in the end. A slowly developing "through-plot" concerns a very shady and powerful organization called "Nightmare" who has it in for Kain.

Series Details

Genre: Science Fiction
Format: DVD
Type: Series
Languages: English & Japanese with subtitles
Video: 4:3 NTSC Standard Aspect Ratio
Audio: Dolby Digital
American Release Status: Unavailable

Series Staff
(click on linked names to view a listing of all their works)

Creator: Hajime Kanzaka & Shoko Yoshinaka
Director: Takashi Watanabe
Character Designer: Shoko Yoshinaka
Music: Osamu Tezuka
Animation Director: Shuichi Okada
Animation Studio: E.G. Films
Japanese Producers:
TV Tokyo

American Producers: ADV Films

Volume 1 Information

Title: In Space...It's Very, Very Dark
Running Time: 100
Number of Episodes On This Volume: 4

Episode Titles

1: A Blade of Light Shine
2: A Goddess Flies
3: The Kitchen Dances
4: Palm Tree Crabs Kill

Volume Synopsis

Sorry, a synopsis of this volume is currently unavailable.

© 2015 

Powered by LassoValid XHTML 1.0 TransitionalValid CSS