Aquarian Age: Sign for Evolution
Aquarian Age: Sign for Evolution
Aquarian Age: Sign for Evolution
Aquarian Age: Sign for Evolution
Aquarian Age: Sign for Evolution
Aquarian Age: Sign for Evolution

Our Rating: 4 stars
Reader’s Rating: 0 stars

Total # of Volumes: 3
(click link to view)

1: Awakening
2: Troubled Dreams
3: Destiny

Similar Series

(click link to view)


Aquarian Age: Sign for Evolution is an enormous thing to grasp. Based on a popular but complex trading card game created by Broccoli (better known for the cute and silly DiGi Charat), Aquarian Age follows the story of aspiring pop star Kyouta and his girlfriend, Yoriko. Unbeknownst to Kyouta, he is at the middle of an ages-old conflict between 5 factions. Even more startling is that Yoriko is destined to be the leader of one of the warring parties, though she has so far refused to assume the role.

Deftly balancing the need to introduce the game and its complex rules with the requirement of creating an engaging and entertaining anime, director Yoshimitsu Ohashi unfolds the tale in a seductive, slow fashion. At times, it may seem to be going nowhere and then, bam, a revelation or surprise pops up. This is all ably assisted by clean, crisp letterboxed animation by the renown Madhouse.

If you are a fan of magic battles, Japanese pop or an excellent mystery, then Aquarian Age is for you.

Volume 1: "Awakening" Plot Summary:

Kyouta Kamikurata has a dream - to make it big as rock star. Together with his pals Shingo and Junichi, he has formed a band and chasing that dream. But that is not the only dream haunting it. He also sees visions of girls with magical powers battling in the skies and appearing outside his room.

Yoriko is Kyouta's girlfriend and she has a dream as well. But her dream is tangled within a dark secret. She is fated to lead one of five ancient warring factions that have battled for control over mankind for centuries. In order for her to remain with the love of her life, she must escape her fate.

Unbeknownst to either her or Kyouta is the fact that Kyouta also has a pivotal role to play in this ages-old conflict. Which one holds the key to success and which one will survive?

Series Details

Genre: Sword & Sorcery
Format: DVD
Type: Series
Languages: English & Japanese with subtitles
Video: 16:9 Anamorphic Widescreen Ratio
Audio: 5.1 Dolby Digital
American Release Status: Unavailable

Series Staff
(click on linked names to view a listing of all their works)

Creator: Broccoli
Director: Yoshimitsu Ohashi
Character Designer: Hisashi Abe
Music: Yuki Kajiura
Animation Director: Fumie Muroi
Animation Studio: Madhouse
Japanese Producers:
Victor Entertainment Inc.

American Producers: ADV Films

Volume 1 Information

Title: Awakening
Running Time: 125
Number of Episodes On This Volume: 5

Episode Titles

1: Deep Blue Overture
2: Fire Green Premonition
3: Cloudy Red Melancholy
4: Concealment Black Offering
5: Sparkling White Inevitability

Volume Synopsis

Sorry, a synopsis of this volume is currently unavailable.

© 2015 

Powered by LassoValid XHTML 1.0 TransitionalValid CSS